By This Hour Finance Desk
The Federal Reserve Board has approved BancFirst Corporation’s application to acquire and merge with Spirit BankCorp, Inc., clearing a regulatory step in a proposed combination involving Oklahoma-based banking organizations. The Board’s September 22 announcement said the transaction would result in BancFirst indirectly acquiring SpiritBank, the Tulsa-based bank associated with Spirit BankCorp.
The approval reaches beyond the holding-company transaction. The Board also approved BancFirst’s merger with SpiritBank and authorized BancFirst to establish and operate branches at SpiritBank’s locations. Taken together, the actions address the corporate acquisition, the proposed bank merger and the continuation of banking offices under BancFirst after the transaction is carried out.
The announcement, scheduled for release at 4:30 p.m. EDT on September 22, identifies BancFirst as being based in Oklahoma City, Spirit BankCorp as being based in Bristow, and SpiritBank as being based in Tulsa. It does not, in the material available for this report, state a purchase price, a closing date, financial terms, expected cost effects, planned changes for customers or staffing plans.
The approval covers the parent company and the bank
The Board described the first part of its decision as approval for BancFirst Corporation to acquire and merge with Spirit BankCorp. That wording concerns the proposed combination of the companies at the holding-company level. The stated result would be BancFirst’s indirect acquisition of SpiritBank, rather than a direct acquisition described separately from its parent-company transaction.
A second approval addresses BancFirst’s merger with SpiritBank. The distinction matters because the announcement treats the corporate combination and the bank merger as related but separately identified actions. The decision also specifically permits BancFirst to establish and operate branches at SpiritBank locations. That language indicates that the branch locations were part of the application considered by the Board, rather than an issue left unmentioned in the public notice.
The announcement does not enumerate the locations involved, give a timetable for converting or operating them, or say whether every existing SpiritBank site will continue operating after a closing. It also does not describe account conversion arrangements, branding, service changes, systems integration, branch hours or other practical details that customers and employees may seek as the proposed transaction progresses.
Nor does the announcement specify conditions attached to the approval. A Board approval is a regulatory decision on the application described in the notice; the public statement supplied here does not provide the underlying order’s reasoning, any conditions, or a detailed account of the record reviewed. Readers should therefore avoid treating the brief announcement as a full description of the transaction or of the process that preceded the decision.
A regulatory green light, not a disclosed closing timetable
The Board’s action is significant because it authorizes the combination set out in BancFirst’s application. Yet approval and completion are not the same event. The announcement says the Board approved the application; it does not say the merger has closed, that operations have been integrated, or that SpiritBank branches have already become BancFirst branches.
That difference shapes what can responsibly be concluded from the release. BancFirst has received the approval described by the Board. Spirit BankCorp and SpiritBank are named as the target company and bank in the proposed arrangement. BancFirst may establish and operate branches at SpiritBank locations under the approval. Beyond those points, the supplied material leaves major commercial and operational questions unanswered.
No transaction value is disclosed in the announcement. There is no stated exchange ratio, cash consideration, share consideration, financing description, deposit figure, loan figure, asset total, earnings contribution or estimate of integration expense. Without such information, the Board’s announcement cannot establish the transaction’s financial value or allow a reliable assessment of its effect on either organization’s earnings, capital, balance sheet or market position.
The notice also provides no current market figures. It gives no share price, percentage move, market capitalization, trading timestamp or investor reaction for BancFirst or any other party. As a result, there is no supported basis here to characterize a market response, infer an investor view, or connect the approval to a change in valuation.
Likewise, the release contains no opinion from BancFirst, Spirit BankCorp, SpiritBank, customers, employees, competitors or community representatives. It does not present a management rationale for the merger, anticipated benefits, projected savings, service commitments or concerns about the transaction. Those omissions limit the report to the Board’s stated action and its plainly described scope.
Three Oklahoma locations are identified in the notice
The parties named in the announcement are all associated with Oklahoma, though the notice assigns them to different cities. BancFirst Corporation is identified as being of Oklahoma City. Spirit BankCorp is identified as being of Bristow. SpiritBank is identified as being of Tulsa. The Board’s description therefore places the proposed acquisition, bank merger and branch authorization within a set of Oklahoma-based institutions.
Those locations should not be read as a complete map of either organization’s operations. The announcement identifies corporate or institutional locations for the parties, but it does not list their service areas, branch network, customer base or geographic overlap. It also does not state how many branches are covered by the authorization, where they are located, or whether additional applications will be required for any future changes.
The reference to branches is nevertheless concrete. The Board said it approved BancFirst’s establishment and operation of branches at SpiritBank locations. In practical terms, that portion of the approval addresses the ability to operate banking offices at locations tied to SpiritBank once the proposed merger is put into effect. The release does not set out how those offices will be named, managed or transitioned.
The public notice’s brevity also means it does not resolve potential questions about timing. It does not say when the companies submitted their application, when they announced their underlying agreement, whether other approvals are needed, or when they expect the combination to be consummated. None of those matters can be inferred simply from the publication date of the Board’s decision.
The Board notice is the primary documentation cited here
The Federal Reserve Board’s September 22 release is the primary documentation for the approval reported here. It states the Board’s decision directly and identifies the entities and branch authority covered. The notice also indicates that an order is associated with the action, but the claims supplied for this report do not include the contents of that order. This account therefore does not attribute findings, conditions or analysis to the order beyond what appears in the announcement.
For the same reason, the report does not make claims about regulatory standards, competitive effects, public comments, safety-and-soundness analysis or compliance reviews. The existence of a Board approval does not by itself disclose how the Board weighed those matters in this case. A fuller regulatory assessment would require details not contained in the supplied announcement.
The release was dated September 22, 2026, and marked for release at 4:30 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time. That is the timestamp attached to the announcement, not a stated closing time for the proposed merger. The material does not say whether a closing occurred on that day or establish a later completion deadline.
Customers and investors still lack key operational detail
For SpiritBank customers, the Board’s notice offers a clear statement about authorization but little about day-to-day consequences. It does not say whether account numbers, products, fees, online banking services, debit cards, lending arrangements or branch personnel would change. It also does not identify a date on which any customer-facing transition would begin.
For BancFirst and Spirit BankCorp stakeholders, the release establishes the regulatory approval but does not disclose economic terms or management expectations. There are no earnings estimates, synergy projections or forecasts in the material. Any claim that the deal will improve profitability, reduce costs, increase revenue or alter competitive standing would be an unsupported interpretation rather than a fact reported by the Board.
The most defensible reading is therefore narrow. The Federal Reserve Board said it approved BancFirst’s application to acquire and merge with Spirit BankCorp, indirectly acquire SpiritBank, merge with SpiritBank, and establish and operate branches at SpiritBank locations. The statement provides no announced completion date and no financial details.
This report has not been independently corroborated. It is based solely on the Federal Reserve Board’s public announcement supplied for this article, which is primary documentation of the Board’s stated action but does not independently confirm the transaction’s eventual closing or its operational and financial consequences.
For further context on this subject, see Federal Reserve seeks comment on stablecoin issuer rules under GENIUS Act.
Reporting notes
What is confirmed: The notice was dated September 22, 2026, for release at 4:30 p.m. EDT. No financial terms or closing date were supplied.
Why this matters: The approval also covers BancFirst’s merger with SpiritBank and operation of branches at SpiritBank locations.
What remains unclear: The supplied notice does not state transaction value, conditions, closing timing or customer and staffing effects. This report is based on one source and has not been independently corroborated.