By This Hour Technology Desk

Audi’s newly reported A2 E-tron aims at a difficult combination in electric cars: a lower entry price, a compact footprint and range figures normally associated with more expensive models. A secondary account describes the vehicle as Audi’s most affordable and most energy-efficient EV so far, with a starting price of £32,200 and a headline range of up to 401 miles on Europe’s WLTP testing cycle.

If those figures are borne out in the final model range, the A2 E-tron would give Audi a markedly different proposition from a large, premium electric vehicle built around size, power or luxury equipment. The reported focus is efficiency: a rear-wheel-drive compact crossover for Europe whose aerodynamic design, battery choices and drivetrain configurations are meant to reduce the energy required to travel each kilometre.

For buyers outside Europe, however, the immediate message is more restrictive. The A2 E-tron is reported to be intended for the European market, and no North American launch is planned for now. That limits the reach of Audi’s apparent effort to put a long-range, efficiency-led EV at a comparatively lower price point.

A £32,200 entry point, with important qualifications

The reported starting price is £32,200, described in the source account as roughly $45,000. That conversion is only an approximation, rather than a North American price, because the car is not reported to be scheduled for sale there. It also should not be read as a direct comparison with local pricing in other markets, where equipment levels, taxes, currencies and sales arrangements can differ.

The starting figure identifies the floor of the reported lineup, not necessarily the cost of the version that reaches the longest quoted range or carries every feature described for the model. The account says the A2 E-tron will have different battery and drivetrain configurations. It does not provide a complete breakdown of prices by version, battery capacity, motor output or feature package. Those omissions matter because electric-car specifications often vary across a lineup, and the cheapest version is not automatically the longest-range or lowest-consumption one.

Even so, the reported price is central to the vehicle’s intended position. Audi is associated here with a compact crossover rather than a larger vehicle, and with rear-wheel drive rather than a stated all-wheel-drive layout. The approach appears to put efficiency and everyday packaging ahead of a claim to maximum performance. The source material does not establish how the car compares with particular competitors, nor does it provide enough detail to rank it across the European EV market. It does, however, frame the A2 E-tron as an attempt to narrow the usual gap between affordability and long driving range.

Range and consumption figures depend on configuration

The strongest range claim is up to 401 miles, or 645 kilometres, on the WLTP cycle used in Europe. That is a maximum, not a figure assigned to every A2 E-tron. The reported wording explicitly ties the result to the right combination of battery and drivetrain. Readers should therefore treat it as a best-case specification within the range rather than a promise for the entry-priced car.

WLTP is the test basis cited in the report, and that distinction is significant. The supplied information does not offer a real-world range estimate, a separate test result for another market, or a breakdown of how weather, driving speed, cargo, road conditions and charging habits might affect use. It would be inaccurate to translate the 401-mile WLTP claim into a guaranteed distance under all conditions. The source supports only the reported European-cycle maximum.

Another reported figure points to the engineering target behind the range claim: the most efficient configuration is said to use 12.8 kWh per 100 kilometres. Like the maximum range, that consumption number belongs to a particular version rather than the entire lineup. The available account does not identify which battery and drivetrain pairing achieves it, or whether optional wheels and other equipment change the result.

Still, the two measurements tell a coherent story about how Audi is said to be pursuing distance. A vehicle can extend its range through a larger battery, but low consumption seeks to make better use of the energy carried onboard. The A2 E-tron’s reported strategy relies on the latter as well as on battery choice. For a compact EV, that is potentially consequential: energy use affects not only laboratory range but also the amount of electricity needed over the life of the vehicle. The source does not supply ownership-cost calculations, so no saving can be quantified from the information available.

Aerodynamics sit at the centre of the reported design

The report attributes much of the A2 E-tron’s efficiency case to a claimed drag coefficient of 0.24. It characterises that result as an Audi first. A drag coefficient is a measure used to describe aerodynamic resistance; in practical terms, the lower reported figure supports the vehicle’s stated emphasis on moving through the air with less resistance.

Several features are cited as contributing to that target: flush door handles, air intakes, a covered underbody and devices intended to reduce gaps around the wheel arches. These are not presented as isolated styling details. Taken together, they suggest a design that tries to manage airflow across the body, beneath the vehicle and around its wheels. The supplied material does not say how much range or energy use can be credited to any one component, so the contribution of each feature cannot be separated.

That limitation is important when assessing a headline efficiency claim. The reported 0.24 figure, the 12.8 kWh-per-100-kilometre consumption result and the 401-mile WLTP maximum describe related aspects of the vehicle, but they are not interchangeable measures. Aerodynamic drag is one engineering input; energy consumption is a vehicle-level result for a given configuration; range reflects consumption alongside the battery and test procedure. None of the supplied material provides independent testing or a full technical dossier connecting those elements.

The account nonetheless indicates a clear product philosophy. Rather than treating compact size as sufficient to make an EV efficient, Audi is reported to have pursued small reductions in resistance across several parts of the car. Whether that produces the cited results for production vehicles, across the variants customers can actually buy, is a question that requires further confirmation.

Bidirectional power and a screen-led cabin broaden the brief

The A2 E-tron is also reported to include bidirectional charging. In the described arrangement, vehicle-to-load power would be available from an outlet in the trunk, while vehicle-to-home use would require a compatible DC wall box. Those are distinct uses: one concerns supplying electricity from the vehicle to external devices, while the other concerns using the car in connection with a home charging installation.

The qualifying language is material. The vehicle-to-home capability is not described as a universal function requiring no additional hardware; it depends on a compatible DC wall box. The available source does not set out compatibility rules, installation requirements, regional availability, power limits or the circumstances in which either power feature operates. Buyers would need those details before treating bidirectional charging as a practical household capability rather than a listed feature.

Inside, the report describes a standard curved display arrangement combining an 11.9-inch digital instrument cluster and a 12.8-inch central touchscreen. The configuration places driving information and central controls in two linked display areas. No details are supplied about software functions, physical controls, connectivity services or option levels, so the screen dimensions should not be taken as a full description of the cabin technology.

The source also describes a magnetic fastening system for attaching items such as cupholders and charging-cable bags at dedicated locations in the cabin and trunk. It presents this as the first production-car use of that approach by Audi. In the context of a compact crossover, such a system appears intended to make storage more adaptable rather than simply adding fixed compartments. The report does not specify which accessories are standard, which may be optional, or how the system will be configured in each market.

Europe is the confirmed focus in the available account

The reported absence of a North American launch plan is more than a distribution footnote. It means the A2 E-tron’s price, range and equipment claims should be read first as a European-market package. The source gives no timetable for a possible expansion, no indication that a North American version is in development, and no basis for inferring one from the car’s technical specifications.

That leaves several practical questions unanswered. The supplied information does not state when European deliveries would begin, which countries would receive the vehicle, what the full model lineup will be, or whether the quoted price includes the same equipment as the long-range and low-consumption configurations. It likewise does not provide charging-speed figures, battery capacities, warranty information, cargo measurements or independent road-test results. Those are not minor details for a vehicle presented around value and efficiency; they would shape how consumers judge the eventual offer.

The report on which this article is based has not been independently corroborated. The price, market focus, range, consumption, aerodynamic figure, charging functions and interior specifications all come from a single secondary source account. There is no material disagreement in the supplied record, but the absence of a contradiction should not be confused with independent confirmation. Until Audi’s full specifications and market plans are verified through additional reporting or official documentation, the A2 E-tron should be understood as a reported product offering with significant details still unresolved.

For now, the picture is of an Audi compact EV that seeks to make efficiency the organising principle of the vehicle: lower claimed energy use, a carefully managed exterior, flexible power output and a price positioned below the brand’s other electric offerings. The most consequential claims—the maximum WLTP range and the low-consumption configuration—are promising precisely because they are conditional. The final assessment will depend on which versions reach European customers, what they cost, and whether the reported figures hold beyond the headline specification.

For further context on this subject, see Liquid pauses after reported 4,000 BTC withdrawal.

Reporting notes

What is confirmed: Reported specifications include rear-wheel drive, a 0.24 drag coefficient, bidirectional charging and two standard interior displays.

Why this matters: The reported package seeks to combine lower entry pricing with low energy consumption and long certified range, though variant-level details are unavailable.

What remains unclear: Pricing and specifications by version, delivery timing, charging performance, battery details and independent test results are not provided. This report is based on one source and has not been independently corroborated.

Sources